Cabbage Canning and more

The sun continues to bake my cabbage so I’ve pulled them all up except for a few that the worms are still feasting on.  The red cabbage got a late start and never made any heads.  The worms have chewed on one of them so much it looks like a skelton of it’s orginal self.  I canned what I picked Tuesday on Thursday; got 5 qts. of boiled cabbage. I’ve 7 small heads to can today.

Here’s a picture of some squash, cucumbers, onions, garlic and dill I pickled while I was waiting on the pressure cooker to get done with the boiled  cabbage.

     The green beans are finally putting off and I’ve a few pints to can today.  I picked 11 cucumbers today.  I’ve already pickled 3 jars; looks like we’ll have plenty if they keep growing at this rate.  I counted 8 cantalopes on Dad’s plants this morning.  Made his day when he called this morning; he’s off at a Bluegrass festival for a week.
     I’ve picked a few baby zucchini for a dish I’m making tonight.  The plants are huge and beautiful, but the zucchini and squash are taking their time get large.  It has been so HOT (95 degree days).  I plan on watering them every other day to see if it makes a difference.

Here’s a few “canning boiled cabbage” pictures & “how to”:


Cut the cabbage in half and cut into wedges; removing the core.
Add water, about 2-inches up, in a large pot and add the cabbage.  Bring to a boil; place lid on.  Turn fire down and steam 5 minutes. 
Pack in jars.  Heat lids in a sauce pan of 2″ water.  Place 1 tsp. canning salt in each jar.  Using your “Bubble Freer” or knife,  slide it down into the jars of cabbage along the sides to remove any trapped air; the bubbles will float to the top. Put lids and rings on jars; screwing tight.
Place in pressure cooker with 2 to 3 qts of water.  Place lid on pressure cooker leaving steam toggle open till the water inside comes to a full boil.  Put toggle down and bring pressure up to 10 lbs.  Keep pressure at 10 lbs for 55 minutes for quarts.  You’ll have to adjust the heat every so often.  My mother taught me to never leave a pressure cooker unattended.  After 55 mins. remove pressure cooker from heat.  Leave to cool completely (pressure guage at 0) before opening.  Do Not lift pressure togle till then.
  Remove jars to a towel in a draft free place and wait to hear that popping seal sound. :O)
((Directions adapted from my Kerr Canning Book.))

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Carol Thompson on 08/17/2011 at 6:49 am

    I have a recipe using cabbage wedges, tomatoe wedges, onion wedges, green pepper slices, worcestershire sauce, butter and lemon pepper and I’d love to can some. I have frozen it with success but I’d like to know if it’s possible to can some for my friends that love it. Can you help me find out if it’s possible?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

