Canning Kraut and updates

     Hope everyones garden is doing well.  We’ve been busy in ours.  We’ve not had a phone since last Tuesday.  A storm blew through last Monday night and knocked over 6 trees on our mile long road to the county road.  Dad and I are looking forward to lots of fire wood.  I have a dail-up connection back here in the ‘sticks’ so there’s an excuse this time for being so long to post.  Thank-God for the wonderful man from Kansas who his helping out our local AT&T repairmen.
   I’ve spent the past week trying to kill cabbage worms.  As I’ve said before the rains we’ve had have allowed them to settle in.  It is hard to apply a powder deterent when it’s always gonna rain. 

I’ve had to pull up and throw away two now.  I went ahead and pulled three up yesterday and shredded them for Sauerkraut today.  I made 6 quart jars.  I’m using my mothers old Miracle Whip jars she’d saved through the years.  Here’s the recipe I used: (exact wording written by my Mother. A notation to the side says “Grandmothers”.)

Kraut In Jars
Place shredded cabbage in quart jar.  Press down gently.  Add 1 tsp. salt and 1 tsp. sugar.  Fill jar with hot water.  Screw the top down tight.  In a few weeks the kraut is good.

A few NOTES:  Since the recipe doesn’t state how hot the water should be I brought mine to a boil and then dipped the water into the jars and I used “Canning Salt” instead of regular Iodized (NOT FOR CANNING) salt.  I heated my lids in hot water for 5 to 10 mins. before placing them on the jars with the rings.  I’ve learned from several sources to place the cooled jars in a cool dark place till fermented and ready to eat.

IMPORTANT KRAUT IN JARS UPDATE:: https://arkansasfarmerette.wordpress.com/2011/06/25/kraut-in-jars-update/

With no rain since last week the garden is finally dry enough for Dad to ’till’ it today.  It really needed it.

The potatoes are starting to bloom.  Dad was asking when to dig them up and according to my info from The Garden Helper.com we’re to wait 2 to 3 weeks after flowering to dig up the potatoes.  If we want late potatoes for storage, we need to wait 2 to 3 weeks after the foliage dies back.

One response to this post.

  1. […] a previous post ( https://arkansasfarmerette.wordpress.com/2011/05/30/canning-kraut-and-updates/ ) I listed an old recipe for Sauerkraut in Jars from my Great Grandmother;  I’ve an […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

