Radishes!

May 11, 2011
Well the garden continues to grow.  Dad tilled it again Friday and fertilized it with 10-20-10.  Yesterday I raked up the dirt around the potatoes for a second time.

Last evening I went out to check the onions and radishes.  Two of the onions are getting seed tops.  I dug gently in the dirt to only find a small onion so I carefully covered it back up.   Dad suggests that I remove some of the dirt that has formed on top of the onions; from the rains washing it there.  He says they need to show barely the tops of the onion itself on the surface of the dirt.

I PICKED RADISHES! 

Well, so much for adding Nitrogen to the soil and only getting green tops instead of a radish.  They were sweet on the front of your tongue and hot(ish) on the back.  Yummy in a salad and alone.  We decided to plant more soon.

Leave a comment